The Finish

I wasn’t planning on writing another post, but I suppose I should for posterity, so this will be the last one. Long story short: I survived!

IMG_9208

Mom & Dad, Colfax 5K, Saturday May 20th

We were fortunate to have incredible weather all weekend. My parents rocked the 5K on Saturday, followed by turkey legs at the Jazz Festival and an awesome pasta dinner that evening.

I woke up around 3am on Sunday morning, after barely sleeping from excitement. I did some yoga, to help stretch out my hips and back, made breakfast (toast, peanut butter, hard boiled egg, strawberries, coffee), and left to get Jaime about 4:30. It was a cold morning, but the sun came up quickly.  After a moment of silence for Boston and the National Anthem, we were off! We did a good job of pacing ourselves early on, but were still much faster than any training run we had done (averaging 10:30 miles for the first 5 or so). We got split up when Jaime stopped to use the restroom, but re-connected around mile 15. The course was beautiful in some places – cherry creek trail, views of the mountains from Sloan’s Lake, gorgeous neighborhoods. Running through the Broncos’ stadium was really motivating to me for some reason – and fun! There were volunteers, police, and spectators all along the way, which was awesome. Many residents had made signs, or put out additional water and orange slices. I was feeling great for the first 17 miles or so, trying to enjoy the moment.

Start line

Start line – 6am, Sunday May 19th

We came back down Colfax, through the stadium again, and that’s when I started fading (mile 20). It wasn’t really the “wall” people talk about with respect to muscles – I had been fueling and hydrating pretty well.  But my back and hips were done with the pounding of concrete and my upper body felt almost too heavy to keep up. I wanted so badly to maintain my time, but I had to stop and walk at times, which was disheartening. I tried calling Dan (microphone built into my headphones), but he couldn’t hear me, which was probably a sign from God saying: “Nobody wants to hear you whine. Hang up and keep going”. So I did. It took me over 5 hours to finish, which is frustrating because I felt capable of more, but I won’t have any regrets because I know I gave it my all. Seeing my family, friends, and coworkers at the finish line cheering, brought me to tears!  I’m so grateful for the support.

IMG_9237

Would I do it again?  Honestly – Yes. If I can get my back issues worked out, through physical therapy for example, I would love to try to beat my time. The time commitment of training is arduous, but there’s something powerful about pushing your body to its limits. I challenged myself to do something I didn’t know was possible, and I persevered. I feel invincible right now. And sore…very, very sore. But this helped solidify that I can do anything I set my mind to. Another fun fact I learned – I could eat whatever I wanted to and still lost weight!  Completely unintentional, but a nice surprise.

IMG_9247

All in all, it was a fun, slightly painful, and truly meaningful weekend. The support I’ve received has been overwhelming and humbling. I’m so grateful for such generous friends and family. I wouldn’t have completed this without them.

image (2)

Let’s see…what’s next on the bucket list?? :)

One thought on “The Finish

  1. So happy for you Liz for your amazing accomplishment!! I’ve kind of gotten stuck on my times for running too. But I am learning that the blessings of accomplishment and enjoyment of doing it with special people out weigh the time status. So proud of you and your perserverance
    !

Leave a Reply

